Nicoblossom Travels

Stories from afar

Friendsgivukkah

1 Comment

First light of Hanukkah 2014: with all of my friends in Israel!

First light of Hanukkah 2014: with all of my friends in Israel!

I celebrated Thanksgiving+Hanukkah by coming together with a handfull of my closest friends to have a “Friendsgivukkah!” Each person made a dish or two to bring, and we had quite the array of dishes to enjoy. I made pumpkin pie from scratch (baked in the toaster oven!) with fresh whipped cream (whipped with a fork!), sweet potato casserole and homemade caramels.

Pumpkin pie step 1

Pumpkin pie step 1

Pumpkin pie proved to be a little difficult to make. I started with this hunk of pumpkin that you see above, and cut it into tiny bits to steam and puree it at my boss’ house. She has a badass immersion blender that did a wonderful job turning the pumpkin into a perfectly smooth puree.

Pumpkin pie step 2

Pumpkin pie step 2

From there I added pumpkin pie spice and finished it off at home in my toaster oven with homemade pie crust :) We topped it with fresh whipped cream.

Friendsgivukkah desserts - mini pumpkin pies

Friendsgivukkah desserts – mini pumpkin pies

Friendsgivukkah desserts - mini pumpkin pies and caramels

Friendsgivukkah desserts – mini pumpkin pies and caramels

My friend Alex hosted the dinner and he provided the main dish: a glorious, juicy, perfect roasted turkey. It was amazing. Since no real Thanksgiving is complete without a last minute trip to the grocery store, Noam and Larry ran out to get flour so I could whip up a quick pan gravy with the ridiculously delicious drippings from the turkey.

Our delicious roasted turkey

Our delicious roasted turkey

Carving the turkey

Carving the turkey

Friendsgivukkah

Friendsgivukkah

We didn’t have a space to seat almost 10 of us, so we had a blanket picnic on the floor.

Friendsgivukkah

Friendsgivukkah

We enjoyed roasted turkey, sweet potato casserole, spicy garlic broccoli, latkes, avocado salad, and some Russian meat and rosemary dumplings.

My plate at Friendsgivukkah

My plate at Friendsgivukkah

Friendsgivukkah

Friendsgivukkah

Noam and I with our mini pies

Noam and I with our mini pies

Noam made mini pecan pies, so our dessert spread was complete. She even put chocolate chips in a few of them so I could have “derby pie!” Best roomie ever  :)

Friendsgivukkah Dessert

Friendsgivukkah Dessert

All in all, it was a wonderful holiday. We miss our family at home, but I am so grateful that I got to spend this Friendsgivukkah with Tyler and my friend family abroad!

I am so grateful for everyone who has supported me, motivated me and helped me along the way. I wouldn’t be where I am without all of your love <3 Happy Thanksgiving (and Hanukkah) from Israel!

One thought on “Friendsgivukkah

  1. We so missed you sweetie!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 493 other followers